JB 200 SILVER.png

The new JB 200 is both a tribute to and an update of the historic model developed by Jacques Bianchi in the early 1980s. Reissuing a historic watch is never easy. In fact, it is a delicate exercise. Should it be reproduced identically? Or should the aesthetic and technical codes be revisited to modernize it from A to Z? Should we take inspiration from it to open new creative paths? The possibilities were numerous. After several months of research and development, it was decided to remain faithful to the historical spirit of the JB 200, which was used by the French Navy, with its 42 mm steel case evoking the characteristic design of the "skin divers" of the 1970s, its "destro" crown offset to the left, its black dial decorated with the silhouette of a large diver, its water resistance to 200 meters, its luminescent indexes and its extremely legible hands. 

top watch bianchi.png
THE CHA.png
PHOTO-2021-04-15-00-54-01.jpg

A mechanical movement with automatic winding

At the time, the JB 200 was powered by a quartz movement, a France-Ebauches for the first series. With the help of Fabrice Pougez, the Jacques Bianchi Marseille team has chosen to equip the new model with a Seiko NH35 mechanical movement with automatic winding, whose robustness, reliability, and precision are proven. The idea here is to move upmarket with a tried and tested automatic movement, without however scratching the watchmaking magic of the original piece. The historical model had a date window at 6 o'clock. What about the new model? In the 1980s, Jacques Bianchi had also developed a junior model of his JB 200 with the silhouette of a small diver on its dial. This track was also considered. It has been explored. It will exist, or not. That's it for the main lines, knowing that every detail of this new piece has been thought about, debated, day after day, night after night, without stopping. And, even if we are from Marseilles, we promise you that we are not exaggerating! 

A DESTRO CASE.png

A "destro" case

The design of the case of the historic JB 200 evokes at first glance that of the diving watches of the 1970s, halfway between the finesse of the "skin divers" of the 1960s and the robustness of the divers of the 1980s. In order to equip the new model with an automatic caliber - necessarily thicker than a quartz movement - the proportions had to be reviewed and improved. The 42 mm off-crown diameter of the case remains unchanged, but a long adjustment process was necessary to preserve the spirit of the historical shapes and the technical requirements imposed by the integration of an automatic movement. "This lengthy study and prototyping work is necessary and indispensable," notes Fabrice Pougez. "Developing this project goes beyond technical contingencies, it's pure pleasure! " 

JB SQUARE.png

A dial with a unique "diver" pattern

The silhouette of this great diver, with his eye riveted on his watch, is the trademark and historical uniqueness of the JB 200. The new model will obviously be faithful to the old one on this graphic point which signs the DNA of the brand and its great originality. Luminescent, the indexes and hands are no longer made of tritium, but are charged with an ivory colored Super-LumiNova to suggest the great dive into the past. "Dozens of tests and experiments were necessary with our Swiss supplier to find the perfect color," says Jacques Bianchi. The black dial is the same size as the original, with a grained texture to accentuate the play of light and shadow. The design of the hands - "stick" for the hours, "arrow" for the minutes and "square lollipop" for the seconds - has been retained. The spirit is there!

More precisely, the size of the indexes has been slightly increased for better readability. The indication "Jacques Bianchi Marseille" also appears at 6 o'clock, as a nod to the typographic location of the technical specifications of professional diving watches. The unidirectional 60-click bezel features the typical graduation of the historic model from the 1980s; its numerals and minute track are made of Super-LumiNova in the same ivory color as the hands and indexes. Finally, the original mirror-polished inclined bezel has been identically reproduced to maximize light reflections on the dial. The new JB 200 will be equipped with a black Tropic-type rubber strap, characteristic of the era of its birth.

jeremy-bishop-G9i_plbfDgk-unsplash.jpg
GRAND.png
JB 200 SILVER.png
B11.png
Fiche JB 200.jpg

        DISCOVER OUR UNIVERSE

DIVER 101.png

FOLLOW JACQUES BIANCHI 

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

JB 200 SILVER.png

La nouvelle JB 200 est à la fois un hommage et une remise au goût du jour du modèle historique développé par Jacques Bianchi au tout début des années 80. Rééditer une montre historique n’est jamais facile. En vérité, c’est un exercice délicat   Faut-il la reproduire à l’identique ? Convient-il plutôt d’en revisiter les codes esthétiques et techniques pour la moderniser de A à Z ? Doit-on s’en inspirer pour ouvrir de nouvelles pistes créatives ? Les possibilités étaient nombreuses. Après plusieurs mois de recherche et de développement, il a été décidé de rester fidèle à l’esprit historique de la JB 200 en dotation dans la Marine Nationale avec son boîtier en acier de 42 mm évoquant le design caractéristique des « skin divers » des années 70, sa couronne « destro » déportée à gauche, son cadran noir décoré de la silhouette d’un grand plongeur, son étanchéité à 200 mètres, ses index luminescents et ses aiguilles extrêmement lisibles. 

top watch bianchi.png
JB 200 TEXT.png
PHOTO-2021-04-15-00-54-01.jpg

Un mouvement mécanique à remontage automatique

A l’époque, la JB 200 était motorisée par un mouvement quartz, un France-Ébauches pour les premières séries. Avec le concours de Fabrice Pougez, l’équipe de Jacques Bianchi Marseille a choisi d’équiper le nouveau modèle d’un mouvement mécanique à remontage automatique Seiko NH35 dont la robustesse, la fiabilité et la précision sont avérées. L’idée est ici de monter en gamme avec un mouvement automatique éprouvé, sans toutefois égratigner la magie horlogère de la pièce d’origine. Le modèle historique présentait un guichet dateur à 6 heures. Le nouveau modèle ? Dans les années 80, Jacques Bianchi avait aussi développé un modèle junior de sa JB 200 avec la silhouette d’un petit plongeur sur son cadran. Cette piste a aussi été envisagée. Elle a été explorée. Elle existera, ou pas. Voilà pour les grandes lignes sachant que chaque détail de cette nouvelle pièce a été réfléchi, débattu, jour après jour, nuit après nuit, sans discontinuer. Et, même si on est de Marseille, on vous promet que l’on n’exagère pas ! 

INFO 1.png

Un boîtier « destro »

Le design du boîtier de la JB 200 historique évoque dès le premier coup d’œil celui des montres de plongée des années 1970, à mi-chemin entre la finesse des « skin divers » des sixties et la robustesse des plongeuses des eighties. Afin de pouvoir équiper le nouveau modèle d’un calibre automatique – forcément plus épais qu’un mouvement quartz – les proportions ont dû être revues et améliorées. Le diamètre hors-couronne de 42 mm reste inchangé mais un long travail d’ajustement a été nécessaire pour conserver l’esprit des formes historiques et les exigences techniques imposées par l’intégration d’un mouvement automatique. « Ce long travail d’étude et de prototypage est nécessaire, indispensable » note Fabrice Pougez. « Développer ce projet dépasse les contingences techniques, c’est du pur plaisir ! » 

 

JB SQUARE.png

Un cadran au motif « plongeur » unique en son genre

La silhouette de ce grand plongeur, l’œil rivé sur sa montre, est la marque de fabrique et la singularité historique de la JB 200. Le nouveau modèle sera évidemment fidèle à l’ancien sur ce point graphique qui signe l’ADN de la marque et sa grande originalité. Luminescents, les index et les aiguilles ne sont plus en tritium mais chargés d’un Superluminova de teinte ivoire pour suggérer le grand plongeon dans le passé. « Des dizaines de tests et d’expérimentations ont été nécessaires auprès de notre fournisseur suisse pour trouver la couleur parfaite » souligne Jacques Bianchi. De la même dimension que celui d’origine, le cadran noir est d’une texture grainée pour accentuer les jeux d’ombres et de lumières. Le design des aiguilles – bâton pour les heures, arrow pour les minutes et square lollipop pour les secondes – a été conservé. L’esprit est là !

Plus précisément, la taille des index a été légèrement revue à la hausse pour une meilleure lisibilité. L’indication « Jacques Bianchi Marseille » apparaît aussi à 6 heures, comme un clin d’œil à l’emplacement typographique des spécifications techniques des montres de plongée professionnelles. Unidirectionnelle à 60 clics, la lunette reprend la graduation typique du modèle historique des années 80 ; ses chiffres et sa minuterie étant réalisés en Superluminova de la même teinte ivoire que celle des aiguilles et des index. Enfin, le réhaut incliné traité poli-miroir d’origine a été reproduit à l’identique afin de maximiser les reflets de luminosité sur le cadran. La nouvelle JB 200 sera équipée d’un bracelet en caoutchouc de type Tropic noir, caractéristique de l’époque de sa naissance.

jeremy-bishop-G9i_plbfDgk-unsplash.jpg
GRAND.png
JB 200 SILVER.png
B11.png
Fiche JB 200.jpg

VENEZ DECOUVRIR NOTRE UNIVERS

DIVER 101.png

FOLLOW JACQUES BIANCHI 

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram