JB HEADER FOR PAGE.png
GO 1.png

THE WATCHMAKER "MADE IN MARSEILLE"

In Marseilles, the second largest city in France, there is the Vieux Port (the Old Harbor), Notre-Dame-de-la-Garde, the OM soccer club, the creeks, the singing accent, the petanque, the sea, the belote card games, the sun beating down, the mistral wind blowing, the Cité Radieuse of Le Corbusier, the horizon line that goes from L'Estaque to Les Goudes, the vertical pride of the Planier lighthouse, the legend of the Château d'If, the Mucem (Museum of European and Mediterranean Civilizations), the masterpieces of the novelist Marcel Pagnol... and Jacques Bianchi.

The world of diving

Solid as a rock, with a gentle gaze and a confident voice, this master craftsman is a monument to Marseilles heritage, the incarnation of a fantasized craft that almost no longer exists. At 80 years old, he continues to repair and revise watches and clocks in his workshop; a divine mess where everything is tidied up, labeled, sacralized. The place is hidden in a discreet building, facing the Old Port. Every day, Jacques Bianchi wears a smock, as white as his beard. He likes to sit at his workbench until late at night to check the functioning of a stopwatch cam or the good working of a tired mechanism. He also likes to talk, to exchange, to discuss the patina of a dial, the beauty of a Valjoux 72 movement, the surprising design of a seconds-hand, his passion for the sea and his rowing trips. He also likes to pass on his unquenchable passion for watchmaking and the calculation of time. Jacques Bianchi has known Jacques Mayol and Captain Cousteau and his second-in-command Albert Falco, known as "Bébert", repaired most of the Rolex watches of the Comex divers (Maritime Expertise Company), created his own brand and discovered dozens of watchmaking water resistance processes throughout his career. All this because diving watches have always been the favorite of this experienced biker. 

JB7.png

The crazy love of diving

"Although I have always been snorkeling, I have never been a diver. On the other hand, I have always been passionate about the mysteries of the deep sea and the beauty of the underwater world," he explains. "Marseilles is a mythical diving spot for natural reasons. The underwater world here is deep and exceptional. Marseilles is also a diving capital for economic reasons thanks to the existence of many companies specialized in this sector. " 

50 years of expertise in water resistance

It is no coincidence that Comex has been based in Marseilles since its creation in 1962 by Henri Delauze, well known to Jacques Bianchi. It is not a coincidence either that the French Federation of Underwater Studies and Sports (FFESSM) is also based in the Phocaean City. Even less a coincidence if Beuchat Diving, world specialist of underwater equipment, was born here. Even if Marseilles inhabitants have a paradoxical relationship with the sea - the city having always been a port open to the outside world, the sea has long been synonymous with remoteness and incessant travels - diving remains a popular activity, anchored in the traditions... if only to go and collect a dozen sea urchins and catch rock fish to prepare a bouillabaisse! When he was a student at the Marseilles Watchmaking School, Jacques Bianchi very early on felt this attraction to the ancestral culture of the maritime cult, and by extension, became almost mechanically interested in waterproof watches. 

THE WATCHES JACQUES B.png
old%20bianch_edited.png
JB300 3.png
JB 200 SILVER.png

MODÈLE DE 1982

JB 300. png.png

MODÈLE DE 1993

Prototypes for the hero of the deep sea

With his watchmaker's diploma in hand, he first began working locally in jewelry repair departments in the back of stores. "At the time, watchmakers were less in the spotlight," he says with a smile. Independent by nature, he then sets up his own business. We are at the turn of the 1970s and everything goes very quickly. Recognized for his expertise, Jacques Bianchi headed the regional after-sales service for LIP - an extremely powerful company at the time - in the Aix-Marseilles region. "This represented up to 600 watches per month," he recalls. The Atelier Jacques Bianchi then obtained the necessary approvals to repair and overhaul - among others - Jaeger-LeCoultre, Breitling, Longines, Eterna, Certina, Citizen, Seiko and became an approved Rolex watchmaker in 1974. The workshop expanded, opening other branches in Marseilles and the surrounding area. The business explodes. At the same time, Jacques Bianchi distributes the Swiss brand Aquastar, creates links with the Comex divers who knock on his door to have their Submariner and Sea Dweller repaired. Close to Jacques Mayol, he designs unique prototypes for the apneist on the basis of Lemania regatta chronographs, inventing processes for sealing the pushers. 

BIANCH ATELIER.png

For the divers of the French Navy and Army

President and regular member of the Rowing Club of Marseilles, one of the most successful rowing clubs in France, he was also interested in underwater exploration and spent hours talking with Jean-Baptiste Esclapez (international champion in underwater fishing) and Patrick Mouton (journalist and writer specializing in the sea), who inoculated him with the nautical iconography virus. Ingenious and modest, Jacques Bianchi contributes to maritime exploration by developing watertight boxes to test the waterproofness of watches in the open sea. He also created his eponymous brand, two models of which were favored by the French Army: the JB 200 Quartz, which was used by the French Navy in the late 1980s, and the JB 300, which was used by Army divers in the mid-1990s. President of the National Federation of Crafts and Creations of Jewelry and Watchmaking (FNAMAC), he is always on the front lines to defend his colleagues. For nearly fifty years, he has worked alongside a team of talented watchmakers who accompany him in his countless passions.

 

He also works as a technical advisor to the French Ministry of Education for the teaching and evolution of the content of diplomas dedicated to watchmaking in France. The rebirth of the JB 200 watch that Jacques Bianchi created in the 1980s is a fitting return to its roots. It bears his name and that of his city forever.

"My employees are in solidarity with this project to relaunch the JB 200 watch. Without them, nothing would be possible. Life is a team effort! "

       DISCOVER OUR UNIVERSE

DIVER 101.png

FOLLOW JACQUES BIANCHI 

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

JB HEADER FOR PAGE.png
GO 1.png

L'HORLOGER « MADE IN MARSEILLE »

A Marseille, deuxième ville de France, il y a le Vieux Port, Notre-Dame-de-la-Garde, le club de football de l’OM, les calanques, l’accent chantant, la pétanque, la mer, les parties de belote, le soleil qui tape, le mistral qui souffle, la Cité Radieuse du Corbusier, la ligne d’horizon qui va de L’Estaque jusqu’aux Goudes, la fierté verticale du phare de Planier, la légende du Château d’If, le Mucem, les chefs d’œuvre de Marcel Pagnol… et Jacques Bianchi. 

Le monde de la plongée

Solide comme un roc, le regard doux, la voix assurée, ce maître-artisan est un monument du patrimoine marseillais, l’incarnation d’un artisanat fantasmé qui n’existe quasiment plus. A 80 ans, il continue de réparer et réviser montres et pendules qui peuplent son atelier ; capharnaüm divin où tout est rangé, étiqueté, labellisé, sacralisé. Le lieu est caché dans un immeuble discret,  face au Vieux Port. Tous les jours que Dieu fait, Jacques Bianchi porte la blouse, aussi blanche que sa barbe. Il aime se mettre à l’établi jusqu’à tard dans la nuit pour vérifier le fonctionnement d’une came de chrono ou la bonne marche d’un mécanisme fatigué. Il aime aussi parler, échanger, discuter de la patine d’un  cadran, de la beauté d’un Valjoux 72, du design surprenant d’une aiguille des secondes, de sa passion de la mer et de ses sorties en aviron. Il aime aussi transmettre sa passion inextinguible de l’horlogerie et du calcul du temps. Jacques Bianchi a connu Jacques Mayol et le Commandant Cousteau et son second Albert Falco dit « Bébert », réparé la plupart des montres Rolex des plongeurs de la Comex, créé sa propre marque et découvert des dizaines de procédés d’étanchéité horlogère au fil de sa carrière. Car les montres de plongée ont toujours eu la préférence de ce motard chevronné. 

JB7.png

L’amour fou de la plongée

« Même si j’ai toujours pratiqué le snorkeling, je n’ai jamais été plongeur. En revanche, j’ai toujours été passionné par les mystères des grands fonds et de la beauté sous-marine » explique-t-il. « Marseille est un lieu de plongée mythique pour des raisons naturelles. Les fonds sous-marins sont ici profonds et exceptionnels. Marseille est également une capitale de la plongée pour des raisons économiques grâce à l’existence de nombreuses entreprises spécialisées dans ce secteur. » 

Une expertise de 50 ans de l’étanchéité

Ce n’est pas un hasard si la Comex est implantée à Marseille depuis sa création en 1962 par Henri Delauze, bien connu de Jacques Bianchi. Ce n’est pas un hasard non plus si la Fédération française d’études et de sports sous-marins (FFESSM) est aussi basée dans la Cité Phocéenne. Encore moins un hasard si Beuchat Diving, spécialiste mondial de l’équipement sous-marin, est né ici. Même si les Marseillais entretiennent une relation paradoxale avec la mer – la ville ayant toujours été un port ouvert vers l’ailleurs, la mer a longtemps été synonyme d’éloignement et de voyages incessants – la plongée y reste une activité populaire, ancrée dans les traditions… ne serait-ce que pour aller ramasser une douzaine d’oursins et pêcher des poissons de roche pour préparer une bouillabaisse ! Quand il est étudiant à l’Ecole d’horlogerie de Marseille, Jacques Bianchi sent très tôt cette attirance pour cette culture ancestrale du culte maritime et, par ricochet, s’intéresse presque mécaniquement aux montres étanches. 

LES MONTRES JACQUE BIANCHI.png
old%20bianch_edited.png
JB300 3.png
JB 200 SILVER.png

MODÈLE DE 1982

JB 300. png.png

MODÈLE DE 1993

Des prototypes pour le héros des Grands Fonds

Son diplôme d’horloger en poche, il commence d’abord à travailler localement dans des services de réparations de bijouterie, tout au fond des boutiques. « A l’époque, les horlogers étaient moins mis en avant » s’amuse-t-il dans un sourire. Indépendant par nature, il s’installe ensuite à son compte. Nous sommes au tournant des années 1970 et tout va alors très vite. Reconnu pour son expertise, Jacques Bianchi dirige alors le service après-vente régional de la maison LIP – extrêmement puissante à l’époque – dans la région d’Aix-Marseille. « Cela représentait jusqu’à 600 montres par mois » se souvient-il. Dans la foulée, l’Atelier Jacques Bianchi obtient les homologations nécessaires pour réparer et réviser – entre autres – Jaeger-LeCoultre, Breitling, Longines, Eterna, Certina, Citizen, Seiko et devient horloger agréé Rolex en 1974. L’atelier se développe, ouvre d’autres succursales à Marseille et aux alentours. Le business explose. Parallèlement, Jacques Bianchi distribue la marque suisse Aquastar, crée des liens avec les plongeurs de la Comex qui frappent à sa porte pour faire réparer leur Submariner et Sea Dweller. Proche de Jacques Mayol, il conçoit des prototypes uniques pour l’apnéiste sur des bases de chronographes de régate Lemania, en inventant des procédés d’étanchéification des poussoirs. 

BIANCH ATELIER.png

Pour les plongeurs de la Marine Nationale et de l’Armée de Terre

Président et pratiquant assidu du Rowing Club de Marseille, l’un des clubs d’aviron les plus performants de France, il s’intéresse aussi à l’exploration sous-marine et discute des heures durant avec Jean-Baptiste Esclapez (champion international de pêche sous-marine) et Patrick Mouton (journaliste-écrivain spécialiste de la mer) qui lui inoculent le virus de l’iconographie nautique. Ingénieux et modeste, Jacques Bianchi apporte sa contribution à l’exploration maritime en développant des caissons étanches pour tester l’étanchéité des montres en pleine mer. Il crée aussi sa marque éponyme dont deux modèles auront les faveurs de l’Armée Française : la JB200 Quartz en dotation dans la Marine Nationale à la fin des années 1980 et la JB300 en dotation chez les plongeurs de l’Armée de Terre au milieu des années 90. Président de la Fédération nationale artisanale des métiers d’art et création du bijou et de l’horlogerie (FNAMAC), il est sur tous les fronts, toujours, pour défendre ses confrères. Depuis près de cinquante ans, il travaille aux côtés d’une équipe d’horlogers talentueux qui l’accompagnent dans ses innombrables passions.

 

Il œuvre également en tant que conseiller technique auprès du Ministère de l’Éducation nationale pour l’enseignement et l’évolution des contenus des diplômes dédiés à l’horlogerie en France. La renaissance de la montre JB200 que Jacques Bianchi avait créée dans les années 1980 est un juste retour aux sources. Elle porte son nom et celui de sa ville. A jamais.

« Mes collaborateurs sont solidaires de ce projet de relancement de la montre JB 200. Sans eux, rien ne serait possible. La vie est un travail d’équipe ! »

VENEZ DECOUVRIR NOTRE UNIVERS

DIVER 101.png

FOLLOW JACQUES BIANCHI 

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram