steve-halama-qbfNeVKJCBI-unsplash_edited
ENDOWMENT.png
old bianch.png

An icon of the great saga of the "French Skin Divers"

In the mid-1980s, Jacques Bianchi developed - under his own name - a diver's watch, water-resistant to 200 meters and powered by a French quartz movement (FE 7121) of rare robustness. Recognizable among thousands thanks to the large silhouette of a frogman appearing on its black dial, as if he were swimming in the case, this watch does not go unnoticed. With a diameter of 42 mm, its stainless-steel case is emblematic of watchmaking design. Equipped with a winding crown on the left side, this "skin diver" with a totally unique "destro" look is dressed in a flexible black rubber strap, openworked and beveled at its end to facilitate handling with the pin buckle. The JB200 collection was launched in 1982 and distributed in a trickle to fittings and dive stores in the South-East of France. Production was limited, at first, to a hundred pieces. 

1982 silver.png

In the Official Register of the French Navy Watchmaker

Towards the end of the 1980s, a few batches of JB 200 watches were purchased by Marine Toulon via the Fleet Supply Service (AF), the French National Marine Department then in charge of purchasing equipment for divers. A few dozen Jacques Bianchi Marseille JB 200 Quartz watches, probably around 60 pieces, were ordered by the French Navy. According to several internal sources of the time, they were not necessarily intended to be delivered to the Weapon Divers such as the Mine Divers or the Combat Swimmers, even though several models of the JB 200 were assigned to the Clearance Divers Group (GPD) as well as to the Naval Air Base (BAN) of Saint-Mandrier, which houses the Commando Hubert. Other units - notably the Diving School, the First Section, and the Saint-Raphaël Naval Air Base, which has since been dismantled - were also equipped with Jacques Bianchi watches. An immersion in the archives of the Official Watchmaker's Register of the French Navy's Arsenal of Toulon allows us to confirm this: several references of JB 200 Quartz are mentioned in the police and repair books. 

SR.png
JBSITE111.png

In use in several units

In detail, the Jacques Bianchi watch number 89057 is identified in March 1994 as having been in use at the naval air base of Saint-Raphaël. This watch was used by a Helicopter Diver or an On-Board Diver who was part of the armament of one of the three patrol boats available at the base, which at the time was responsible for the surveillance and maritime security of the surrounding water around the runways and landing strips. "This watch is indeed listed in the Official Police Register of the Navy Watchmaker for having undergone, at the request of the unit, an overhaul on March 29, 1994," explains a former officer of the French Navy, active in the 1980s. Other evidence: a second Jacques Bianchi JB 200, referenced 89009 and identified as being in service on the "Persée" (a mine hunter, hull number M649, now decommissioned) also underwent an overhaul in March 1994 by the Navy Watchmaker. Three other Jacques Bianchi JB 200 Quartz watches appear in the police register of the Navy Watchmaker, under reference numbers 89005 (Naval Air Base of Saint-Mandrier) as well as models No. 89003 and No. 89004 (First Section Service of Fleet Supplies), for repair or in service. Finally, two JB 200 models are officially referenced for assignment to the Clearance Divers Group (GPD).

JB 200 FULL LENGTH READY_.png

JB 200

MODÈLE DE 1982

HERE IS THE RETURN.png

The very confidential distribution of the JB 200

The distribution of Jacques Bianchi JB 200 Quartz watches within the French Navy has remained quite confidential, at best a few dozen pieces ordered at the end of the 1980s mainly for Helicopter Divers of the Saint-Raphaël naval air base and for divers on board certain ships, including the mine hunter "Persée".  On the other hand, the proof of their endowment in the French Navy units and their military use is irrefutable.

        DISCOVER OUR UNIVERSE

DIVER 101.png

FOLLOW JACQUES BIANCHI 

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

steve-halama-qbfNeVKJCBI-unsplash_edited
une montre header.png
old bianch.png

Une icône de la grande saga des « french skin diver »

Au milieu des années 1980, Jacques Bianchi développe – sous son nom – une montre de plongée, étanche à 200 mètres et motorisée par un mouvement à quartz français (FE 7121) d’une rare robustesse. Reconnaissable entre mille grâce à la grande silhouette d’un homme-grenouille apparaissant sur son cadran noir, comme s’il nageait dans le boîtier, cette montre ne passe pas inaperçue. D’un diamètre de 42 mm, son boîtier en acier inoxydable est emblématique du design horloger. Dotée d’une couronne de remontoir située à gauche, cette « skin diver » au look « destro » totalement singulier est habillée d’un bracelet en caoutchouc noir souple, ajouré et biseauté à son extrémité pour faciliter la manipulation avec la boucle ardillon. La collection JB200 est lancée en 1982 et distribuée au compte-gouttes dans des boutiques d’accastillage et de plongée du sud-est de la France. La production est limitée, au début, à une centaine de pièces. 

1982 silver.png

Dans le Registre Officiel

de l’Horloger de la Marine Nationale

Vers la fin des années 1980, quelques lots de montres JB 200 sont achetés par Marine Toulon via le service des Approvisionnements de la Flotte (AF), le département de la Marine Nationale française chargé alors des achats de matériel destinés aux plongeurs. Quelques dizaines de montres Jacques Bianchi Marseille JB200 Quartz, probablement une soixantaine, sont ainsi passées en commande par la Marine Nationale. Selon plusieurs sources internes de l’époque, elles ne sont pas forcément destinées à être délivrées aux Plongeurs d'Armes comme les Plongeurs Démineurs ou les Nageurs de Combat même si plusieurs modèles de la JB200 ont été affectés au Groupement des Plongeurs Démineurs (GPD) ainsi qu’à la Base aéronavale (BAN) de Saint-Mandrier qui abrite le Commando Hubert. D’autres unités – notamment l’Ecole de Plongée, la Première Section et la base aéronavale de Saint-Raphaël, démantelée depuis – étaient également dotées de montres Jacques Bianchi. Une immersion dans les archives du Registre Officiel de l’Horloger de la Marine Nationale de l’Arsenal de Toulon permet de l’attester : plusieurs références de JB 200 Quartz sont mentionnées dans les livres de police et de réparation. 

SR.png
JBSITE111.png

En dotation dans plusieurs unités

Dans le détail, la montre Jacques Bianchi numéro 89057 est identifiée en mars 1994 pour avoir été en dotation à la base aéronavale de Saint-Raphaël. Cette dernière est utilisée par un Plongeur Hélico ou un Plongeur de Bord faisant partie de l'armement de l’une des trois vedettes dont dispose la base assurant, à l'époque, la surveillance et la sécurité maritime du plan d’eau aux abords des pistes d’envol et d’atterrissage. « Cette montre figure bien dans le Registre Officiel de Police de l’Horloger de la Marine pour avoir subi sur demande de l’unité, une révision le 29 mars 1994 » explique un ancien officier de la Marine Nationale, en active dans les années 1980. Autre preuve : une deuxième Jacques Bianchi JB200, référencée 89009 et identifiée pour être en dotation sur le « Persée » (un chasseur de mines, numéro de coque M649, aujourd’hui désarmé) passe également en révision en mars 1994 chez l’Horloger de la Marine. Trois autres montres Jacques Bianchi JB200 Quartz apparaissent dans le registre de police de l’horloger de la Marine, sous les numéros de référence 89005 (Base aéronavale de Saint-Mandrier) ainsi que les modèles n°89003 et n°89004 (Première Section Service des Approvisionnements de la Flotte), pour mise en réparation ou en service. Enfin, deux modèles de JB200 sont officiellement référencés en affectation au Groupement des Plongeurs Démineurs (GPD).

JB 200 FULL LENGTH READY_.png

JB 200

MODÈLE DE 1982

UPDATE TEXT.png

La diffusion très confidentielle

de la JB 200

La diffusion des montres Jacques Bianchi JB200 Quartz au sein de la Marine Nationale est restée assez confidentielle, au mieux quelques dizaines de pièces commandées à la fin des années 1980 principalement pour des Plongeurs Hélico de la base aéronavale de Saint-Raphaël et des Plongeurs de bord de certains bâtiments, dont le chasseur de mines le « Persée ».  En revanche, la preuve de leur dotation dans les unités de la Marine Nationale et leur utilisation militaire est irréfutable.

VENEZ DECOUVRIR NOTRE UNIVERS

DIVER 101.png

FOLLOW JACQUES BIANCHI 

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram